Painting an owl

This is my first post about painting on my blog. And therefore just let me add some general information at the beginning, because a lot of my familiy members do some sort of painting or creative work and also my father likes drawing and painting. None of the countless paintings in my parents house is painted by a stranger. They are all painted from familiy members and friends. ๐Ÿ™‚

When I was a child, I started with pencil drawings. My favourite theme were animals and that never changed. I think it’s because I can draw animals without a lot of effort. I also tried to draw humans, but they didn’t look that great. ๐Ÿ˜‰ After a while, I started to experiment with coal and water colour, and some years ago I tried painting with acrylic. In 2011, I started painting on canvas with sizes of 60 cm x 60 cm and 50 cm x 70 cm. You can look at the paintings that I painted during the last years on my Overview page. The two frogs were presents for my boy friend and are located in the living room of our flat. All other paintings were presents for friends, because we don’t have enough space to put them all up. Therefore, I didn’t choose the themes of the paintings, but gave my friends the possibility to get their favourite animal. This time, I got the order to paint an owl. So I painted an owl. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Normally, I don’t like people to watch me while I’m painting and I only show paintings when they are finished. But this time I made an exception andย  took photos of the steps leading to the finished painting. So here is my owl painting process:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

And that’s it:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Leave a Reply

