Zpagetti Basket

Do you remember this image? It was part of my shopping post.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Did you recognize the yarn? This was a Hooked Zpagetti yarn. I already used it for a project and there’s not much left. And that’s what I created: Two Zpagetti baskets!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The big one:

The big Zpagetti basket has a diameter of 26 cm and a height of 12 cm.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The small one:

The small Zpagetti basket has a diameter of 20 cm and also a height of 12 cm.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

General Information

Yarn

  • Hooked Zpagetti

Stitches

  • sc: single crochet
  • inc: increase – two sc in one stitch

Pattern

I used a very basic pattern that I already knew from other projects. Here it is:

Round 1: Form a magic ring and make 6 sc in that ring. If you don’t know how to do a magic ring (I wasn’t able to do one when I started), here is a great tutorial video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sLUaywX0-WE

Round 2: * inc, repeat from * 5 times (two sc in every stitch) -> 12 stitches
Another tip: I use a fixing pin to mark the first stitch of a round. That helps me to keep track of the rounds and when counting stitches.

Round 2: *sc inc, repeat from * 11 times -> 18 stitches

Round 3: *sc sc inc, repeat from * 17 times -> 24 stitches

Round 4: *sc sc sc inc, repeat from * 23 times -> 30 stitches

I think you got the pattern now. It’s really easy and you only add 6 stitches (make 6 increases) every round. For my small basket I made 6 rounds and for the big basket I made 8 rounds. I finished the last round with a slip stitch.

Then you get to the edge of the basket. That’s were you stop increasing stitches and just make one sc in each stitch. To get the edge, I only crocheted in the back loop of the stitches, as you can see here:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

You can also see the edge that builds itself. Afterwards you just continue with as much rounds as you want (normal single crochets) until you reached the right height for your basket. I did 8 rounds on mine.

And that’s it! You can finish your basket with another slip stitch and sew in the ends. And here are again two images of the result:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I hope that you understand my very basic pattern. It’s the first pattern that I’ve written down. 🙂 Have fun making your own Zpagetti basket!

 

Leave a Reply

